Weekend Catch-Up

Hey All!

     How was your weekend? My Saturday was spent doing laundry and hanging out with my dad, and then Sunday was spent at my local favorite coffee shop, Fly-by, and then going to a friend’s to celebrate her husband’s “over-the-hill” birthday, which was so much fun!
     I wanted to tell you all about a book I just got finished reading called, The Art of French Kissing by Kristin Harmel. It’s about this young lady named Emma who is about to get married to the “love of her life”, Brett. About a month or two before they get hitched, Emma’s made this great dinner for him (all of Brett’s favorites) and he dumps her, saying he’s “fallen out of love with her”; to make matters worse, he asks her to leave within the month. The next day, her boss at the PR firm she works for says, “Oh, we’re downsizing, so we have to let you go.” And on top of all of that, she finds out that her ex-fiance has been cheating on her with her best friend & bridesmaid. However, all this changes when she calls her former work colleague and friend from Paris, Poppy; Emma tells Poppy of the whole situation and Poppy offers her a job with the PR firm in Paris that she works for, saying that her publicist just quit and they need a hand for 5 weeks. After a bit of pleading from Poppy and a promise of an all-expense-paid ticket, Emma goes. After that…well, you’ll just have to read for yourself, now, won’t you?? *insert slightly-maniacal-yet-cute/bubbly laugh here*
    
And since I’ve just finished that book, I made sure to pick up another favorite from our local library called Office Girl by Joe Meno. I’m not sure what city this takes place in, but it’s about a couple of 20-somethings living life in the city with menial office jobs. The main character, Odile (oh-deel) works for an international research company, conducting surveys via telephone. I had just forgotten that on the first few pages of the book reads this:

Office Girl.  Or Bohemians.  Or Young People On Bicycles Doing Troubling Things.

     …and thus, that should be the main reason why you should go to your local library and read this book. Though, keep in mind that there are no real chapters in this book; all of the “chapters” start off in capitalized single-sentences. If that drives you batty, then this may not be the book for you; if not, then you’re in luck.
     Anyhow, I think that’s all I’m going to say for now. Two-day weekend ahead, for me; no work tomorrow due to a maintenance thing, and then, well, I usually get Wednesdays off due to dart night. I hope you all have had an awesome Monday, and continue to have a great week. Take care! Until next time, friends!

…wait, I guess before I go, I should leave you with a few recent favorites of mine, shouldn’t I?

Seana’s Recent Favorites:

  • Song: “Say Something” by Christina Aguilera & A Great Big World
  • Tea: Stash’s Chai Spice (I make mine with sugar and a splash of milk…YUM!)
  • Video Game: Skyrim (…though, I like watching my boyfriend play it.)
  • YouTubers: (This shouldn’t surprise anyone…) abb3rz07, Grav3yardgirl, amarixe, nikkiphillippi, and michellephan.
  • Food: Baked asparagus
  • Shampoo/Conditioner: Pantene Ultimate 10 BB Shampoo/Conditioner

 

Leave a Reply

